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VSA 10 (07/25/2015) 

               LICENSE PLATE APPLICATION  

Purpose: Use this form to request souvenir, standard, personalized or special license plates.  
  
Instructions:   Review the Additional Information Section on the back of this form. Mail completed form, with the appropriate fees, to  
  DMV at the address above.  Or, you may apply online at www.dmvNOW.com or at any DMV Customer Service Center 
  or DMV Select office. 

APPLICATION TYPE (check one) 
VEHICLE  
LICENSE PLATES   

VEHICLE LICENSE  
PLATES - DISABLED

SOUVENIR 
LICENSE PLATE 

TRANSFER EXISTING 
LICENSE PLATES 

LICENSE PLATE TYPE REQUESTED (check one) 

SCENIC (pick one)

STANDARD LIGHTHOUSE HERITAGE (Dogwood-Cardinal)  

AUTUMN MOUNTAIN TO SEASHORE PATRIOT

Locality:COLLEGE:
 (No initials or abbreviations)

CountyCity

MILITARY:
 (No initials or abbreviations)

(Note: some plates require certification)(Review the Clean Fuel License Plates section on the reverse side of 
this form.)

SPECIAL INTEREST: 
 (Organization Name - If organization has more than one license plate, specify design type)

CLEAN FUEL
Vehicle Year Make Model

OTHER
(Any plate not listed above)     

PERSONALIZED LICENSE PLATES: To request a personalized vehicle or souvenir plate, review the Personalized License Plates Policy on the 
reverse side of this form.  Check this box and enter your choices below. 

PERSONALIZED LICENSE PLATE CHOICES      
1st 

2nd  

3rd  

4th  

 DMV USE ONLY

AVAILABLE CHOICE

FEE 

$

APPLICANT INFORMATION 

CITY STATE ZIPCURRENT MAILING ADDRESS

DAYTIME TELEPHONE NUMBEROWNER'S  NAME         (last)                                                         (first)                                                                (mi)

DAYTIME TELEPHONE NUMBERCO-OWNER'S  NAME  (last)                                                         (first)                                                                (mi)

PLATE TYPE PLATE EXPIRATION DATECURRENT PLATE NUMBER 

  CERTIFICATION/SIGNATURES 

VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER VEHICLE TITLE NUMBER 

This vehicle is insured with liability coverage by a company licensed to do business in Virginia. Coverage must be in effect at the time of application and must 

This vehicle is not insured; therefore, I am remitting the applicable uninsured motor vehicle fee. This fee provides NO insurance coverage. 

remain in effect as long as the vehicle is registered, even if the vehicle is not driven or is inoperable.  

Failure to comply with Virginia's insurance requirements will result in suspension of your driver's license and vehicle license plates.  
I/We further certify and affirm that all information presented in this form is true and correct, that any documents I/we have presented to DMV are genuine, and that the 
information included in all supporting documentation is true and accurate.  I/We make this certification and affirmation under penalty of perjury and I/we understand 
that knowingly making a false statement or representation on this form is a criminal violation. 
For a corporation, an authorized representative must sign.   

DATE (mm/dd/yyyy)CO-OWNER'S SIGNATURE

DATE (mm/dd/yyyy)OWNER'S SIGNATURE
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ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
Special license plate fees can be $10, $15, or $25 annually or a one-time $10, $25 or $50 fee based on the plate design, in addition 
to the registration fees.  Personalization is an additional $10 annually.  
  
If you are renewing early, the special license plate and/or personalized license plate fees will be prorated for the months remaining on 
your current vehicle registration. 
  
The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will not honor a change of choice or refund after the order has been sent to the manufacturer. 

  
You may purchase samples of most special license plates. 
  

Personalized License Plates Policy 
All personalized character combinations are screened by DMV to ensure compliance with DMV's Personalized License Plate Policy.  
  
The combination of characters used to personalize a license plate must not violate DMV's Personalized License Plate Policy.  DMV 
reserves the right to refuse and/or recall the issuance of any combination of objectionable characters if they, in anyway, carry a 
connotation that may be reasonably seen by a person viewing a license plate as 1) profane, obscene, or vulgar in nature, 2) sexually 
explicit or graphic, 3) excretory related, 4) describing intimate body parts or genitals, 5) describing drugs, drug culture or drug use, 6) 
condoning or encouraging violence, 7) describing illegal activities or illegal substances.    
  
Personalized license plates require special handling; allow up to 60 days for delivery. Plates will be mailed directly to the applicant. 
  
Indicate your choices in order of preference. The maximum number of characters allowed on standard and scenic license plates is 7 ½. 
The maximum number of characters allowed on a heritage license plate is 6 ½.  Six characters are allowed on all other license plates 
bearing logos. License plates with logos may sometimes accommodate an additional ½  space when personalized. A blank space and 
a dash are the only two characters that are ½ characters. An ampersand is considered a full character. Spaces, dashes, and 
ampersands cannot be used consecutively.  
  
Visit our website www.dmvNOW.com to create a plate or ask a DMV representative to determine availability. 
  

New Special Interest License Plate Development Information 
All application and refund inquiries should be directed to the sponsor who is maintaining and facilitating collection of the 450 
pre-paid applications for new license plates through General Assembly authorization or currently under development.  

  
When the 450 pre-paid applications are being processed, personalized license plate and special license plate fees are not prorated.  
Your vehicle registration will not be renewed unless it is within two months of expiration.  Should your vehicle registration require 
renewal, you will be billed by DMV for payment.  

  
The entire special license plate process could take up to two years depending on the direction of the sponsor. It generally takes about 
nine months to develop a new plate once the 450 pre-paid applications are collected. 
  

Clean Special Fuel License Plates 
Clean Special Fuel Plates do not allow free access to any Express Lanes without meeting the minimum passenger requirement. 
 For free access to Express Lanes, drivers with clean special fuel plates must have three or more people in the vehicle and an E-Zpass 
Flex set to HOV mode. 
  
To qualify for clean special fuel license plates, a vehicle must qualify as a clean special fuel vehicle under the super ultra-low emission 
vehicle (SULEV) rating or the Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) equivalent beginning with model year 2005 vehicles.     
  
Vehicle assessment standards were set by the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) and adopted by DMV to ensure 
that only the cleanest vehicles are eligible for clean special fuel license plates.   
  
Not all vehicles qualify for the clean special fuel license plate. For a list of qualifying vehicles, visit our website at  
www.dmvNOW.com.  The list of vehicles is updated as new qualifying vehicles are introduced to the market and assessed by DEQ.   
You can also email us with questions at CleanFuelPlates@dmv.virginia.gov. 
  

Other License Plates -  Certification Required 
Antique License Plates require submission of the Antique License Plate Applicant Certification (VSA 10 B) with form VSA 10. 
  
Gold Star License Plates require submission of the Gold Star License Plate Applicant Certification (VSA 10 A) with form VSA 10. 
  
Disabled License Plates require submission of the Disabled Parking Placards or License Plates Application (MED 10) with 
form VSA 10.
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